Gareth Kerr Memorial Scholarship

The Gareth Kerr Memorial Scholarship was created by the Student Health Care Center (SHCC) in memory of University of Florida engineering student Gareth Kerr. Gareth made significant contributions to the SHCC, giving quietly and unselfishly of his time, energy and vision to ensure that quality health services were accessible to all UF students. Prior to his passing in April 2006, Gareth served on the Student Health Advisory Board (SHAB) and was also an active member of both the Student Health Outreach Team (SHOT) and the Student Health Advisory Council (SHAC).Gareth Kerr

After careful consideration of multiple applications, the scholarship was bestowed upon one student each year who had demonstrated interest, commitment and passion for the health and well-being of fellow students and/or the community at large. The Gareth Kerr Memorial Scholarship recognized students who consistently supported campus and community health programs and/or worked diligently to promote an issue or cause related to health and wellness. Those listed below are those students who were presented the scholarship from 2007-2021.

Although SHCC is no longer providing this scholarship, the legacy of Gareth Kerr and his contributions to the UF community and SHCC will live on forever.

Past Winners

  • 2021: Angelique Ramirez
  • 2020: Phebe Brocke
  • 2019: Isabella Orgel
  • 2018:¬†Joseph Monir
  • 2017:¬†Tatiana Paz
  • 2016: Brittany Schambow
  • 2015: Adaobi Ugochukwu
  • 2014: Charisse Ahmed
  • 2013: Shannon Pringle
  • 2012: Daniel Alvarez
  • 2011: Belinda Smith
  • 2010: Elizabeth Stein
  • 2009: Adam Mecca
  • 2008: Shilpa Gogna
  • 2007 (first year): Chad Hubsher